Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Posted by on Feb 27, 2012 in Insanity | 134 comments

Insanity Workout Review For Women – Results From Real Women

So you’ve heard all about the Insanity workout by Shaun T, but you’re skeptical as to whether it’s the right workout for you as a woman. I’m a guy myself, but after I went through Insanity, my wife felt compelled to try it out too, and I’m going to share her results with you today in my Insanity workout review for women! Plus I’ve done a bit of good research and I’ve found there are women all over putting up their Insanity journeys, so I’ll share a few of those as well.

Insanity Workout Review Women

Insanity-Workout-WomenFirst of all, I’ve done a main Insanity workout review, which you can click through that link to see (it automatically opens in a new window so you can keep this one open too). It covers most of what the program is about, but I’ll give a brief overview here in case you need refreshing.

Insanity is a 60-day workout designed by Shaun T, for men and women alike. The program is based on Shaun’s technique called ‘Maximum Interval Training’. In regular interval training, you do a short burst of high intensity activity, followed by longer periods of rest or low activity. Shaun reverses this, meaning you’ll be pushing yourself harder, for longer.

It comes with 10 DVDs with different workouts. There is a fitness test too, which you can repeat every other week to see how far you’ve come. The workouts generally last between 20 minutes and 1 hour, and you’ll need to keep it up every day (you can rest on Sundays – or do one of the ‘recovery’ exercises where Shaun goes a bit easier on you).

Check out this video from fitness trainer Rachel. She met Shaun personally to do Insanity (although of course it can be done from the comfort of your own home):

You don’t need any extra equipment for Insanity. It’s all about leveraging your own body weight. As Rachel says, it’s one of the toughest workout programs out there. When you feel like you can’t push any more, Shaun motivates you to go that final step further. It’s this that really helps you trim that fat so you can have a beautiful slim, flat waistline and body overall.

Now, Rachel is a fitness instructor so perhaps you have concerns about how fit you need to be to do the full 60-day workout. Well the answer is that you don’t need to go into the Insanity workout as fit as an instructor is. It tailors for all levels. You only need to do as much as YOU can do.

Insanity Workout Review Women – My Wife’s Results

My wife Debby saw me at home working my guts off in front of the DVD player with this guy Shaun yelling at me to keep going, and well, she was curious. I told her all about it and I guess my enthusiasm rubbed off on her. Debby is just a normal gal, she exercises a bit here and there but she’s no fitness buff. We’re both in our late twenties, so it’s a good time to get into shape!

Debby dropped down from a size 8 to a size 6 in just the first month. She lost 15 lbs and she’s loving it. She gets compliments from friends (and strangers like shop assistants and the like!) almost every day now. In fact, I’m sure she won’t mind me saying this, her confidence has really been given a boost now. I know it’s a direct effect from going through Insanity. She’s slim and beautiful to me, but inside is where the real difference has been made. She’s confident in her body, and in herself, which is wonderful.

Insanity Workout Results For Women

There’s another great video of a girl who found Insanity after she was pregnant, and low on confidence. What’s great is that she talks quite a bit about how the workout affected her, and sometimes it’s easier to convey this kind of thing over video than in a post like this. Check it out:

She shows her before and after pictures after 2:10 in the video, but don’t skip the start because it’s a great story from a nice girl that took a great deal from the Insanity workout.

So if you aren’t convinced that the Insanity workout is great for women, I don’t know what else to say. What I would say is I recommend you try it out for yourself from the official site (they have a 100% money-back guarantee and a payment plan, so there’s no risk). I’ve written before about the dangers of buying Insanity from scam sites that are run overseas in countries like China and Korea. If you find a site out there with an offer that seems too good to be true, then it probably is. You’ll end up paying for them to steal your card details, which is not a laughing matter.

Not to mention, when you buy from the official site, you also get 4 free bonuses. It’s a no-brainer, really. You get:

-Insanity Calendar (track your results and plan your future workouts)
-Nutrition Guide (great recipes for a healthy diet, which is important)
-Fitness Guide (everything you need to know to get started)
-Online Support (access a group of peers and FITNESS EXPERTS, 24/7. Invaluable)

>>Click Here Now To Buy Insanity From The Official Site With 4 FREE Bonuses<<

 

 

Technorati Tags:

134 Comments

  1. hey
    i just got the insanity program because my golds gym membership is up in 3 months and since i already workout hard 5- 6 times a week and do an average of 2 hrs i do toning weights circuits and general cardio under the instructions of my trainer

    but i feel my results are super slow for all the work im putting in

    so i was thinking i could add to my workout the insanity its only an hr i can squeeze it in but dont know how healthy that us

    any advice?

    • As always, ask your trainer if you have a personal training regime going on. Insanity can be added to an existing routine or it can stand up on its own. It’s your judgement whether you are over-working yourself. Good luck finding the right balance!

      • Hey Joe, so what if you do weight watchers and Insanity is that a good comnbination?
        Thanks,Melissa

        • I’m not sure about this one – it might not be the best idea to mix Insanity with a low carb or low calorie diet. It’s usually best to stick with the nutrition plan provided. That said, if you’ve tried it, please share your results with us! I’m always happy to admit if I’m wrong :)

  2. Great story!
    Did you guys follow the nutrition plan carefully?

    • To be frank, we didn’t use the Insanity nutrition plan much. We tend to stick to healthy foods if we can, organic free range meat, lots of vegetables and avoid the processed foods and sugars. As long as your diet is natural like this, that should work well with Insanity. There are great ideas in the nutrition guide though so use them if you like them!

  3. I really want to try insanity! I am a college student and part-time worker, i don’t get paid enough to afford it and it seems that no matter what I do I just can’t get comfortable with myself. I’m over weight and I’ve tried diets, exercise and even pills but they’ve never EVER worked. I have asthma- but still determined that i can do this safely- and something Celiac disease, so i may have to tweak the nutrition guide to fit my disease and food allergies. I’m in the worst shape of my life- fat, no exercise, okay food habits and I can’t even do a push-up. I am saving up to get this program- my future is at stake here…and I’m engaged; I’d like to remember my wedding happily and not look upon photos and hate what I looked like on my happiest day. If my dream of getting Insanity comes true and I get the body that I’ve always wanted I will happily update you guys and even put my progress up on facebook! Maybe if I get those sexy results I’ll even get my belly button pierced!

    • Great story Livi – I really hope you get everything you want out of Insanity. Everyone deserves to be happy, keep us updated :)

  4. hi,
    I got my insanity workout dvd yesterday and I started doing the Fitness test(first day). My question is it ok to add the hip hop abs to my workout to?

    • If you think you can handle it, try it out. My mantra is always to test yourself. If you have the time and the inclination, try out both in your schedule and see how you progress. The only reason not to is if you want to see how you do with just Insanity first. Let us know how you do!

  5. Im on my last week of insanity and I was a good 80 lbs over weight ive lost a solid 30 lbs but i doubt i will lose 50 lbs this week….I didnt follow the nutrion plan but I did change my diet by that I mean NO FAST FOOD, cherios for breakfast, turkey sandwich or salad for lunch, boneless chicken breast for dinner or a variation of that, no more red meat, we switched to turkey. So my original plan was too take a recovery week after this week and start all over and abide by the nutrition plan. But after working the max training I feel it would be a waste of time to start at the begining as Ive seen greater results in the max training….So should I repeate the max training twice or do something else? Thnaks

    • There’s nothing wrong with repeating just the max training or indeed taking your time to reach your goals. I’d take the recovery week and then test out a new schedule with just the month 2 workouts. See how it works out and adjust based on how you perform

  6. In response to Levi,
    there are many torrent avaliable on websites such as piratebay, so you can download it for free. If you can afford it by all means do and support the program, but if you cant there is always that option.

  7. I have started insanity 4 weeks ago and i have gain 15 pound!!! Yes my waist has shrunk @inches but do some people gain wait?

    • It’s great that you’re tracking your inches because that’s very telling. It is definitely possible to gain a bit of muscle weight, while at the same time losing body fat. Keep going and see how month 2 goes, and keep tracking the inches. Your weight will probably start coming down too.

      • I am a pretty regular runner (2-3 miles daily) and my husband (a soccer player) and I are finishing our 1st month of insanity. He hasn’t lost any weight, but is DEFINITLY slimmer and even more buff. I gained about 5 pounds (which really hurts after all the effort I’m putting into it), but I do feel stronger. We took the last 2 days off and ran instead and in just those 2 days, I lost 3 pounds. I really want to complete the whole program, but was hoping I’d see more weight loss than I do from running considering I sweat a whole lot more doing insanity than running. We already eat very healthy (low fat/carb, natural, etc.). Any suggestions?

        • It’s important you stick to the schedule for Insanity. The short-term results can be discouraging for some people as they see their weight fluctuating at the start. If you’re used to running, then your body will be used to it as well. With Insanity, you will likely be pushing new parts of your body. That’s where new muscle is being built, and therefore you may gain a few pounds. However, you can actually lose fat at the same time as gaining muscle weight. I always advise measuring your inches with a tape measure. I.e. your waist, upper arms, legs and hip. Though your weight may go up or stay the same at some early points of the program, you may discover you are losing inches in all the right places. If you stick with the program through to the end, your body gets used to it and you begin to lose weight as well. Until you’ve done it once, it can be hard to know that you should keep going. How have you gotten on?

        • Muscle weighs more than fat. Doing strength training is probably affecting your muscle mass. Don’t panic. Keep at it. You will like the results. Moreover as a woman 5lbs up and down near you menstrual cycle is totally nomal. It’s water weight. Put in the work you will see the results :-) Gluck !

          • Being super pedantic, muscle and fat weigh the same – i.e. 1lb of muscle is the same as 1lb of fat. However – and this is the important part – muscle tissue is much *denser* than fat, so 1lb of muscle takes up far, far less space than llb of fat.

            So with any resistance training program you could gain weight but lose inches, and you’re changing your body’s composition, and becoming more compact.

  8. Hi, this morning I woke up and when I turned ln the tv insanity was on. Ive
    Seen many diff workouts and infomercials but this one really caught my attention. I had a baby almost a year ago and havent been happy about my body since. I really want a flat tummy and muscle definition! I have considered p90x, or getting a gym membership but my motivation is off and the words “ill go tomorrow” are getting old. I havent worked out in a long time , ive never been a fitness buff. im also not over weight and have always had a fast metabolism. Yet after the baby it slowed down and I can not get rid of this gut!! My question is what is the diff between this and p90x? And I cant even do a push up…will I be able to do this? Thank you

    • Both Insanity and P90X are quite challenging workouts, but I think you can tackle either one. Insanity is more cardio based, and P90X has more variety in the workouts, with weight lifting and even yoga as well. Either will be good for definition and a flat tummy – you don’t need to worry about bulking up too much. I agree with you that buying a gym membership is just not reliable these days! Both of them come with guidance on diet too, which is half the battle. I’d suggest P90X to start with as perhaps there is greater room to improve and work your way up through the course. Good luck!

  9. Hi,
    I started Insanity two weeks ago, but for the second week I went on vacation and got sick with asma. What sould I do, start all over again or start with the second week.

    • There’s no harm in getting straight back into week 2

  10. I’m going to try Insanity now. Should I start with only the fitness test at day 1 and then do the exercises in order.. I mean, should I do plyometric cardio circuit day 2, Cardio power and resistance day 3 and on..? sorry my english isn’t the best. Hope you understand!

    • You can do the fitness test and the next exercise on the same day if you want. You should do each exercise on different days, yes. You don’t want to over-work yourself

  11. My only concern before starting the insanity work out is any recommendations on prepping for the start? I know it can be a really intimidating work out and I was wondering what sort of meals I should eat to prep for the before and after of the work out? I naturally eat healthy with no soda, etc, but I was wondering from a nutritional standpoint what would be the best approach for preparation to this program?

  12. Hi,

    I am currently on Day 45 and looking forward to complete my insanity program. This is the first DVD set I have ever been excited to come home and workout to. After Day 60 do most people just restart the program again at Day 1 or only the max interval videos?

    • This is down to personal choice. Many people I’ve known do redo the entire program, so it’s not a bad choice and gives more variety. If you feel up to it, you can keep repeating the max interval videos instead and perhaps accelerate your results

  13. I have done just the 2nd day but I had already changed my diet before I decided to order insanity. When I did the workout, I fee energized and more fit. I feel great I have already lost 4 pounds and ready to lose more. I alsonhad a son 2 years ago never been the same since. But insanity will be my life changer.

  14. Im starting insanity tomorrow with a few co workers (one of whom is a personal trainer) on our lunch hour, mon-wed-fri. Hoping to drop 4 sizes eventually.

  15. I’m not convinced that this insanity workout program works on morbid obese people or any type of obesity whatsoever. All workout programs with reviews and results are good proven outcomes regarding to weight but the reality is none of these results or advertising shows any obese clients on the program. My point is all the before and after pics on all the clients using any of these programs are not your overweight or obese people. It’s always people with a little bit of fat trying to get in shape.

    Proof is in the pudding…..show me any program with a obese person turning out to be a having a six pack….it doesn’t exist.

    So saying insanity,tae Bo ,hip hop abs works??? Yeh rite

    • Losing that much weight as an obese person is a huge psychological issue. I have no experience of it myself, but that is how I see it. Insanity and other similar programs can work, but it is as much diet as the exercise you do. Also with such fat loss targets, it will most likely take longer than 1 round of a program like Insanity. It has to be a complete change of eating habits and lifestyle over a long period of time.

    • Your negative comments are unfounded and harmful, a friend of mine was 400 pounds and is down to 225 just by doing insanity and p90x. He started out doing the exercises seated in a chair. He kept doing as much as he could and now two years later instead of dying young he is running marathons. Maybe his story will motivate you and others to do what you can to get healthy.

  16. In April I hurt my back, a buldging disk at L5. Since then I have been recovering. My chiropractor says its time to start working out again. Before the injury I worked out 3-4 x a week doing cardio and weight lifting. Needless to say I am a little hesitant. I would like to find a good workout regime and have been going back and forth between Insanity and P90X. I have heard that the Insanity workout is very hard on the joints and back. Which would you recommend?

    • My mantra when I get a question like this is always to consult the doc first. The most important thing is to have the right posture when performing the exercises, which you will be able to see on screen. If you cannot continue with a workout without pain, then it is time to stop. It’s important to know your limits if you have an injury. That said, my recommendation for you is P90X to condition your core. Here is an interesting thread that discusses the topic: http://www.teambeachbody.com/connect/message-boards/-/message_boards/message/56398722

  17. Hey,
    I would like to see a response to Kims’s comment on July 27. I was a runner before i started insanity (abt 3 mi every other day, sometimes more) and have gained 5lb myself. I was right at my ideal body weight and now weigh 5lb extra. I want to be more toned, but i am in my 4th week of insanity and gaining weight. Sticking to a good diet too. Any suggestions? Like Kim, i feel stronger and my muscles are sore after but no results yet. Thanks!

    • I’m finding the same results too and I’m really concerned. I’ve been doing insanity for 3 weeks now – been following a pretty good diet. I’ve been in pretty good shape before insanity and lots of walking, pilates etc. Now after 3 weeks I’m bulking up in my upper thighs and butt. I don’t mind the new definition on my shoulders but I’ve gained about 4 lbs and I notice the new muscles in my thighs. My boyfriend is doing Insanity too and it’s working out better for him. Is this program designed to bulk you up?

      • I’ve replied to the original comment by Kim now. The program is not designed to bulk you up in the long-term. It is a short-term effect of pushing your body in new ways. Let us know how you’re getting on!

      • I am on week 4 of insanity, and am noticing the same thing. I weigh about 125 lbs and am just doing Insanity to tone up. However, the only thing that is toning are my legs. The muscles are getting very defined in my quads and my butt is more firm. I feel like its not doing anything for my stomach yet. Will this change?

        Also, I like Insanity way more than p90x; I find it much more challenging and easier as it requires no equipment.

  18. Hi, I just got the Insanity workout. I am concerned though. I am 5’0 and 110 lbs. I’m what people call skinny, but I want more tone and definition. I also want more of a hour glass figure, which means a smaller waist, and bigger buttocks. However, I am concerned that this workout might give me more of a rectangular midsection shape which is not what I want at all. Are there any sections of the workout I should skip to avoid a boxy midsection?

  19. I just started my second month of Insanity. I have to agree with many comments here; I see little results for all the efforts I put in. I dont have much weight to lose and my trouble area is my stomach/love handles, but I was hoping to see so much more results so now it’s kinda depressing. Im gonna finish the challenge because I never drop anything, but I really don’t understand. I do the diet, I do all the exercices and I often do more (repeating the most challenging exercice before streching)…anyways, I look at the girls in the DVD and I wish I had them shape.

    Im 134 lbs, 5’5 and gain 3 ponds since I started… Do i feel more inshape? yes..but am I seeing the transformation in the miror? Not yet!

    Please tell me that it will start showing this month! (Any of you ladies had the same problem and got results at the end?) I need inspiring stories from people that didn’t have so much weight to lose because it seems always harder to lose the last ten pounds…

    Thanks!

    • Hang in there, I wanted to hang myself the first month but by the end of the second month you won’t believe the changes. The weight finally starts falling off and definition starts popping out everywhere. I even started seeing a six pack, the navy couldn’t even do that to me in boot camp:) I’m a 44 year old woman with the body of a 20 year old thanks to insanity! My resting heart rate went from 80 to 54 also.

    • Hi,

      I just read your post. I am the exact height and starting weight as you are (when this post was written in August of last year. I am in my Cardio Recovery week and feel exactly the same. My clothes are a bit loser and things are tightening up, but I am scared to death to get on the scale or measure myself. I’m just curious how your results were when you finished. I was watching the informercial last night and told my daughter I can’t fathom how in 5 weeks from now, I’m going to look so drastically different, although I certainly hope so.

      Thanks for your time.

  20. hi, i just started insanity a day go and i want to know if its normal to be out of breath and stop every now and then because i cant seem to keep up. i am only 19 but due to university and exams i munch a lot so i put on weight and haven’t been doing any exercise at all.

    • Hi,
      It is totally normal! :) I use to run 10km, 5 days a week and when I started Insanity I wanted to cry how “out of shape” I felt. Don’t worry and take the time to recover by extending the brake period (pause the DVD and start again when you can so you wont miss any of the workout).
      By the end of week 2, you will aready see the difference and by the end of the 28 days, you will feel like continuing after the dvd. ;)

  21. Hi!
    I am a long distance runner(25 miles a week:T, W, F(alt),Sat&Sun) and I train run group through the week. My weight train days are Monday and Thursday. Is it possible or even advisable to incorporate this form of workout. Thanks!

    • I have the same question as Keisha. I run long distance and tend to be pretty slow. I purchased Insanity because I thought it might help me work on my core and to help me run faster because it would make me stronger. I’m on day 2. My idea was that I would do Insanity in the morning and do my normal running routine at night. Needless to say, tonights 5 miler is out…I’m hurting. Are there any runners out there who have been doing this for an extended period of time who have been able to incorporate the 2 together? Any suggestions?

      • Sara – I just started using Insanity on Tuesday. I am also a long distance runner, 80-100 miles weekly. On Tuesday I had run 20 miles in the AM and did the fitness test that evening. Wednesday I ran 16 miles and did the first DVD…have to say I’m using muscles I’m not used to using. I plan to do my running in the morning and the dvd in the evening. Hopefully will see some definition in the abs and arms.
        Stay true…

  22. I’m a 46 year old female (about 30lbs overweight) who has not been very physicallly active in the past 2 years. 2 years ago I completed the P90X and was amazed of my results. Life got difficult and well, my physical health went down hill. I struggle with hamstring strain and have been going to physical therapy. My therapist recomended that I try Insanity and then go back to my P90X. My doctor states that I need to rememember my age and to slow down and maybe take up mall walking. NO! I am only 46, so I want to prove him wrong!! Is insanity for me? And yes, I can do a few “boy” push ups, and several “girl” push ups :)
    Please give me some incouragement, as what I have read from the reviews are “young” somewhat already fit people. =)

    • Hi there. I am very out of shape and overweight. Technically, I probably should have started with something a little easier than insanity but I wanted something that would really motivate me! I make it through the end of every workout (I’m just finished week 2) though I have to modify some things. If there is an exercise I can’t do, I just run in place instead. Even the people on the video can’t all keep up the pace on every DVD. You can totally do this, just listen when Shaun says to take an extra break if you need it. If there’s a move you can’t quite do, try and modify it a bit. I have to do girl push ups during part of the time. But at least I’m working out and moving!

      • Thanks Whitney for your help. I just recieved my videos, shopped today for “good” food, and will hit video 1 tomorrow. :)

    • Thank you for posting. I’ve been wanting to try this but wondered with my age ( just turned 45 yrs.) and I am with you on the push ups ,etc. I do like to walk 1-2 miles every 3-4 days a week. I am also looking at the nutribullet for a healthy smoothy in the mg or lunch. I don’t eat much or reg., but I am still about 25-30lbs over weight according to WW site. I am curious to what others say about this that are over 40 or 45 plus. I know I would have to start off slow on this.

      • .Hi there just read your post and wondered how you got on in the end? I am 45 and female and just finishing week 3 of Insanity it has got easier (slightly!) during this period and I actually look forward to the challenge every morning !!! I have 2 points I would like to make the first being how important it is to follow the nutrition plan, eating small regular amounts of the right foods makes a huge difference, I previously lost weight on the Bodytrim programme which is just walking and eating 6 protein rich meals a day, keeping your metabolism ticking over is vital. Secondly if at all possible do your workout in the morning (I do mine before I eat breakfast which I look forward to after) I know this is not possible for everyone but it really does set you up for the day, its done and you don’t have it nagging you all day at the back of your mind!! I am a busy mum of 3 and know how easy it is to get caught up with other things and before you know it the day has gone :)

  23. Me and my girlfriend want to start the insanity work out but we don’t know where to start. please someone give us advice.. we can’t afford the dvd but we are willing to try anything to lose weight

    • I bought my copy from a seller on Gumtree who received insanity as an unwanted Christmas gift, I paid 35 pounds for it, maybe see if there are sellers on eBay or amazon? Be careful though, some offers seem too good to be true and that’s because they probably are! I’m sure you could find it cheaper though

    • Hey casey!!

      My husband and I are doing this workout. We bought it used on Amazon for $84. Just make sure its from a seller like Amazon that will refund you if it is a scam. But Amazon is really good about that in general! :)

  24. Hi there,
    So I started Insanity yesterday. I did the fitness test and I got my butt kicked. I did the first video today and I had to stop more then once, twice or three times! I am just wondering if your not keeping up with the instructors, will you still see results. I am pushing myself to the limit.. but are those limits going to make the cut?

  25. I just bought Insanity from a friend and plan to start it Monday with my husband. My question is I just had a baby 7 months ago and am still nursing. Is there anything I need to do or change so that it doesn’t effect my supply?

    • Rachel- I too just had a baby ( just 8 weeks ago) and breastfeeding. I started Insanity a week ago and my breastmilk has maintained. I eat about 1800 cals a day and drink at least 3 liters of water if not more. My milk stores dropped a little at 3 to 4 weeks because I wasn’t drinking enough water. My baby eats a lot!! So I was amazed and excited that my supply has kept up.

  26. I am currently on week 3 of the Insanity workout and I am loving it! I’m seeing results already! You really need to stick with it though and not cheat on food or skip days in the workout to see results. Your results will only reflect what YOU put into it. If you don’t follow it the correct way, don’t expect anything to change! I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone wanting a great workout and that wants to lose weight and tone up. However, if you have low will power, then I don’t recommend it. You’re the only one accountable for your workouts each day and it’s easy to say “Eh I won’t do it today” if you are that type of person. If you follow it correctly, it’ll be worth it in the end!

  27. Hi, I’m an overweight, 37yo mother of 2 and am now on my 3rd week of INSANITY. I am absolutely loving it. I have already noticed a 4″ loss around my waist. I’m not weighing myself as muscle weighs more than fat and can seem misleading on the scales, so instead, take body measurements then maybe remeasure every time you do a fit test. I’m not following the nutrition guide religiously but am making healthier food choices. My son is 17 and does free running and parkour, I can now jump as high as him and have increased my stamina. The fit test is an excellent way to track your progress, I can now do 101 power knees in a min, up from 68!!!! INSANITY is the way forward, and my only regret is I did’nt find out about it sooner.

  28. Hands down. Insanity was the best workout I have done in my entire life. When I first started I wanted to quit every single day. It is no way that you can beat insanity, that is how you know it works. I dont know one person that can finish an insanity workout without stopping in the middle of it. I completed the workout and I am going for round 2 soon. Great post. Thanks alot

  29. Yes insanity!!!! I love it. I am really thinking about trying the Asylum workout. They say its the insanity on steroids. I can only imagine how tough it would be. Insanity also has a bonus dvd called Fast N Furious, its a 20 minute workout and it is pure hell!!! you should check it out it you havent. I am looking forward to it and I am prepared. Thanks for the great review. Will continue to read on

  30. Alright. I’ve decided to attempt Insanity. I’m not exactly small and never really have been, but my husband is in Korea for a year and I would like to lose enough while he’s gone to drop a jaw. ;) lol I chose this one instead of p90x because it involves more cardio and I’d like to start running with him when he gets back too. Will Insanity help build up my stamina so I can run a little more easily or should I mix insanity with running? What do you guys think?

    • Insanity is amazing for cardio! See how you feel after month 1 if you want to mix a little running in then you can do but insanity helps hugely with cardio, you will see a big difference :)

  31. I’m really unfit and don’t have enough upper body strength to perform a mens push-up. I can do girls push-ups from the knees though. Will INSANITY improve my upper body so I can do mens push-ups in the near future? I’m on my 60 programme.

    Thanks,

    Gwen

    • Insanity should certainly help with your upper body strength, but it helps to do weight training for that part of your body. There is actually an entire DVD if you find the Deluxe version of Insanity, called ‘Insanity Upper Body Weight Training’. You might be able to find a copy of the DVD on Amazon. Hopefully you’re improving on your push-ups already.

      • I’m on my third week of the 60 day challenge. When I started I really struggled just to do push ups on my knees. Now I have started to just about be able to do the full push ups and even the moving ones and I’ve only been doing the Insanity 60 day challenge on its own. I really don’t see the need to keep buying expensive workout dvds and weights all the time, especially if your like me who’s a single mom and can’t afford it.

    • Hi Gwen

      Im also doing the Insanity 60 day challenge and just like you I couldn’t do a mens push up but I struggled to do a girls push up as well! I’m now on my third week and I am starting to do mens push ups now and I haven’t been doing any other workouts apart from the Insanity 60 day challenge.

  32. I tried insanity a couple of months back. Finished month one and the recover week and lost a total of 10 pounds. When I got to month 2 I found the work out very tough to keep up with and too long to meet my busy schedule as a full time mom and student. I have restarted the program this week and am determined to try the month 2 work out again when I get to it, but is is acceptable if I finish month 1, recovery week and then just repeat month 1 over again ?

    • That extra 20 minutes in month 2 workouts can be a killer for some, and the new workouts introduced at that point aren’t for everyone. It’s perfectly fine to restart again on month 1. You might find that it becomes easier over time because you’re increasing in strength and cardio capacity. Time of course is an issue for all of us, but maybe after you’ve done month 1 twice, you’ll have another stab at month 2 and find it easier. You’ll get great results either way, but if you can push through month 2, it’ll take you to a whole other level :)

  33. I’m on my my 3rd week. Absolutely no change! All I have acheived is a sprained ankle!

  34. I started with the fit test on nov 25, yesterday i did the first workout. The fist test had me hurting but it was bearable but when i woke up this morning i could barely walk. Idk what i should do now because i dont want to tear any of my muscles but i dont wanna get off track. Should i take the day off today and start again tomorrow? Im a full time mom with a part time job, i have to be able to perform my work duties to provide for my child but i dont want to mess up the workout and not get the results i should get? What should i do?

    • Hi Jenn,

      Yes it can be hard balancing life with your workouts :) If you’re feeling really sore the morning after, you can take the day off. Recovery is very important, and our metabolisms are still working away even during the down-time. Insanity is a tough workout so some people won’t be able to get straight into the rhythm. What’s important is that once you do get going, you stick to it all the way through.

  35. I have read most of the comments and noticed that no one had any remarks concerning their age. I’m 59yo and am considering doing the Insane workout. I have worked out regularly for the past 4yrs and am in pretty good shape. Am I “insane” about trying this? Joints are always an issue though I have only trouble with my right shoulderand left hip.What is your oppinion- am I over the hill?

    • I have seen many people start Insanity and other exercise programs at your age range, and do very well with it. I don’t think you’re anywhere near over the hill :) having said that though, if you do have any joint or other issues, make sure to ask your doctor about it first.

  36. I signed up for a cardio class which the instructor is teaching the insanity workout. My question is will I see any changes in my body if I am taking this class twice a week for 70 minutes each time? I also have a strength training class which is an hour long as well as a Yoga and Pilaties class… Those 3 classes are an hour long each and I have them 3 days a week.

    I weigh 181 right now and I hope to get down to 145 soon!
    Thanks

    • Hey Tiara, you definitely sound committed to the cause :) If you have an instructor motivating you with the Insanity, that makes it even easier to complete the program. Even if you don’t do Insanity every single day, you should still see changes.

      Remember to measure your inches around your waist, hips, legs and arms too – sometimes your weight fluctuates (as you develop muscle tissue) but you lose inches and drop body fat % overall.

  37. Hi,

    i just started the Insanity program myself and a friend of mine asked me if when doing the Insanity Workout, will her breasts become more imposing or more cleavage or will it stay as it is?

    I myself don’t know and i saw this site. If someone can help me answer her, it would be nice.

    Thanks in advance ^_^

  38. does insanity get rid of your butt? i mean i guess i have a so called nice butt and i dont want to get rid of it.

    • not really, it makes it more toned thus more sexy i suppose

  39. I borrow the Insanity DVDs from a friend and he also let me borrow the nutrition guide. I work from 8:30am till 5:30pm with only one hour lunch in between, and I cannot eat the 5 meals a day. Any suggestions on what I can do? Because I really want the program to work.

    • I don’t follow the nutrition guide to be honest with you. I just eat healthy as possible, cut down on sugar, switch white bread to granary, drink water and green tea, don’t eat deep fried foods such as crisps and fish and chips. Stay away from reduced fat food because they are bad for you but apart from that I try not to worry too much about food. Works for me.

    • I’d suggest sneaking a few healthy snacks in during the day if at all possible, at regular intervals. Eating regularly is an important part of this, it’s all about how your metabolism works. That said, it shouldn’t be a big problem. Just make sure you can stick to the exercise plan and get the right amount of calories each day. I know it’s difficult for many people to get the 5 meals per day during the working week, but you can still make this work if you put your mind to it. Good luck!

  40. 5’11″, 269lbs male, just was able to drop 20 lbs with dieting in 2 months by cutting any carb at night and reducing portions throughout the rest of the day. I exercise once a week in a tennis workout for 1.5h. Is it a good idea to take on the insanity or P90x programs now, or should I try to drop a little bit more weight first? Thanks for any comments.

    • Hey John, there’s never a bad time to start Insanity or P90X. Great to hear your results so far, but I think you can push yourself even further with one of these 2 workouts. Keep good track of your weight and inches, and follow it over time. You don’t need to drop any more weight to get started. Good luck, let me know how it goes :)

      • Man, I started it yesterday with the fit test. After completing it felt very dizzy and was very pale, tried to take a shower but couldn’t finish. Wasn’t feeling my toes and hands very well and my thighs were kinda purple. Had to lay down for more than an hour for my color to come back. I probably overexerted myself in the first exercises, should I drop the program or just try to find my own pace and watch my heart rate? I am obviously out of shape and conditioning. Will buy an HRM for safety reasons for any future activities.

        • I’ve had similar experiences in the past when I was out of shape. It’s probably nothing – but always worth asking your doctor and taking proper safety precautions as you suggest. Usually it’s just your body adjusting to a new routine that it isn’t used to.

  41. Hi Joe,

    Looks like you guys had some fantastic results. I enjoyed reading this. It is inspiring to see people’s results from this program.

    I started Insanity on 01/12/2013 and I am pushing it hard. Throughout my research I read that a great way to stay motivated is to post daily reviews of the workout on a blog, so I have been doing that. I post my daily experience with the program on my blog. I would love for you to stop in some time and let me know what you think. Part of the motivation that blogging will bring me requires that I actually have people reading my posts and depending on me to work out and post daily.

    • Hey Eric, yeah blogging is a great way to hold yourself accountable. The website you’ve provided doesn’t seem to be up right now though? It’s a domain for sale. Perhaps you’ve mistyped it…

  42. Hey joe!
    I want to get the insanity workout but I want to make sure that it doesn’t make me loose inches of my behind. What do you recommend?

    • From most women on here, it seems like it tones and firms up the butt rather than losing inches off it. I wouldn’t worry about it – Insanity is a good choice for you.

  43. i used to be in really good shape but stopped workingout with my prenancy. I started the insanoty workout today and yes I am obese so i was only able to get through the first 15 mins of the firtness test is that ok ??

    • Of course – whatever you can achieve is fine. You’ll find that you improve over time. It’s best to record all your results so you can see how far you’ve improved. That said, always consult your doctor before embarking on a new routine for your body.

  44. I’m only 5′ and 50 pounds overweight. I am built manly, but I need and want to look more feminine and lose some inches around legs, waist, arms…ect. is insanity going to actually help me slim down or is this something i’m going going to have to do time and time again? I have insanity coming my way in a week or so. What can i actually expect?

    • You can get into great shape by completing the 2 months of Insanity. The question of what to do when you’ve finished is really up to you. I don’t like to stagnate so I seek out new workouts, but I often come back to Insanity and try hybrid workouts too. See how it goes with the 60 days and let me know your results!

  45. I would love to try the insanity program but i have never really worled out in my life! i was wondering if it would be bad for me from not working out and working out hard. Might be a dumb question.

    • Perfectly valid question – and one I hear a lot. People who don’t work out regularly will find it tough going to start with, but that’s no reason not to start. You just need to do whatever you can. If you can’t complete the entire workouts, that’s fine. By the time you complete the 60 days, you’ll have made incredible progress. Then should you decide to go through a second time, you’ll be at a level above when you started. Good luck!

  46. Hi! I am a college student and I really want to try insanity. I’ve read over comments and reviews many times and am really motivated. Regarding the diet, I have no problem eating healthy, as I always do but will drinking have any affects on my results? If so would it be better to drink less or to completely cut it out? I want the results that I have in my head, but I want to still be able to enjoy college. Thanks!

    • Hi Jenna. A tough decision :) it’s a balancing act really, especially when you really want to enjoy life at college, because it can be the best time of your life. Insanity can be a great motivation to get in shape and impress your friends. Drinking in general obviously will do more harm than good – however I like to stick to a glass or 2 of red wine as opposed to drinks like beer that are full of calories. You don’t want to suck all the enjoyment out of life. I’d say that Insanity will definitely have a big impact for young people at college like yourself even with a few drinks here and there.

      • Okay thanks!! Also, after insanity is completed what should I do to maintain my body and make sure I don’t go back to how I was? I used to run every day but never saw any changes so I’m not exactly sure what else I should do to stay toned and happy.

        • Oh! and also, is it bad to do any extra workouts? Or should I strictly follow and stick to insanity only? Thanks :)

  47. Hello, thank you for your in depth review for women! I am very excited to get started but am a bit nervous after having not worked out since I had my baby in July of 2011. I got back to my pre pregnancy size+1 just by eating healthy. I have never been a scale watcher because I care more about how I fit into my clothes and what I look like than what the scale numbers tell me. My goal is to lose inches in my legs/hips and get the tummy of my dreams! Does that sounds realistic with this workout? I did P90X before I got pregnant for about a month and then of course had to stop. I liked the ab workout with that program so I thought about adding that in on some days when I want some extra tummy time; is that bad or good do you think? I will also be taking my daughter on walks most every day so that is an extra little bonus. :) I plan on doing two rounds of insanity but will be taking a little over a month off in between, as we are going on a long vacation filled with family visits. What do you recommend I do in between that will just help me maintain? Thank you in advance!

  48. I have been doing Insanity for about 3 weeks now, is it normal to just be hungry as crap all day?! I have always been “one with food” because I was greedy with bad habits, but I mean now I really am just hungry all of the time.

    • I have experienced the same thing with insanity. I just completed week 3 of the program. I dont know what results you have had but maybe your calorie consumption is too low for the calories your burning.

      • Eat every three hours, not more than 4. Your body is telling you that its metabolism is revved up. Another idea is to add a 6th meal but keep it low/no carb. Try a protein shake with 4oz of almond or skim milk, 1 scoop of 20+ grams of protein powder, 1 tbl. of natural/low sodium peanut butter. Blend and drink!

  49. Just a quick question for ya’ll. I was reading both of the reviews you had on p90x and insanity. I’m a 24 year old Marine, I have not been able to find a good workout that will get me the results I want for a long period of time. Im looking to gain some weight seeing as I’m only 155 lbs and want to get to atleast 170. Which workout regimen do you suggest, p90x or insanity?

  50. Hi,

    I have bought insanity last year and after the few first days it was so painful in my legs I could’nt walk gracefully lool, do you have any suggestion to help with soreness? Now I need to go back to the gym to begin ti exercise again and then in one or two months I would like to try to COMPLETE insanity but it is so demanding 6 times a week is a lot especially when you have to travel twice a month during the weekend anyway … thanks for the response :)

    • It’s tough to fit in Insanity in our fast modern lives sometimes. Just do your best – it’s ok to miss out a workout occasionally. Definitely if you are feeling sore, make sure you are cooling down properly after each exercise. Sometimes a day off helps too.

  51. I am 27 year old woman who weighs 172 lbs. I just completed week 3 of insanity but havent seen any changes in my body or weight. I have noticed that I can do more push ups but thats it. I feel that I am too out of shape for this program to have a great affect on my body. Before I started insanity I lost about 70lbs. After I lost that weight I noticed I had loose fat on my tunny and inner thighs. This is what led me to start the insanity program. But now I am feeling discouraged and dont believe my body will ever tone up. I want to weigh 135 lbs and desire to be in a size 8. I am currently in a size 12. I was wondering should I add weight training to this program to help me tone this loose fat on my body? Also do you have any other advice for me with seeing results because right now I am feeling like I am putting myself through hell for nothing. Thanks

  52. Hi, I’ve been doing Insanity off and on for about 3 weeks. I’m 4ft 11′ and weighed 135 when I started. I can’t say I’ve done it every day because at first I was alternating with jogging. I am now 127 pounds but can’t seem to drop any more weight. I usually weigh 118. I do feel like I have lost inches just not weight. I’ve decided to stick to Insanity, but do u have any suggestions on how or where I should go as far as the workouts?

  53. Oh, and do you have to do the recovery week?

  54. Would it be okay for a teenage girl to do this workout or do you not know? I’d like to start it and get to feeling better about myself. Thanks!

  55. Hi, I started doing insanity for the first time, today completes a week. I read some reviews that women tend to lose a lot of boob fat doing insanity. I was hoping my cup C would get smaller but my boobs are Ds now! They feel bigger and heavier for my body since I have a tiny waste. I don’t follow the nutrition guide cuz I already have a small figure it’s just my breast are the problem. Will my breast get smaller eventually or should I just stop before it’s to late ??? Or do they swell up? Please help

  56. Hi, I just started Insanity yesterday and it was challenging. My biggest concern is that it is so intense I will hurt myself and if I don’t push myself I won’t see results, I guess I have to find a happy medium. I weigh 185 lbs which fluctuates up to 190 lbs. I would like to get to a size 6. I am currently a size 12. With hard work and dedication do you think this is possible in only 60 days? Not too concerned with weight loss I just want to look good in my clothes.

    • How did it go?

  57. Hi, I have been doing insanity for 4 weeks although 4-5 times a week. I have gained 7lb! I have improved my diet and consume less calories, fat and sugar. If I continue to do the workout 4 times a week, should I lose weight?

    • Yes, especially as the second half of Insanity really steps it up in terms of difficulty. Sounds like you’re sticking to the nutrition plan, so your weight should come down. Let us know how it goes

  58. I plan to start my Insanity journey on March 25th; I’m 43 years old, female & 180 lbs. I would love to do the program 6 months back to back in 60 day interval ofcourse, to reach my goal of 125 lbs. I’m only 5 foot 3 so I hope this workout will get me down to a healthy weight & back into shape. I have watched some clips already and I know it’s going to be a long 6 months but I’m determined to get healthier. I suffer from migranes and sometimes nerve pain and I hope getting active from being sedentary for so long, will kick my body into a better physical state. I’m not 20 anymore but I want my body to look & feel it though. Wish me luck :)

    • Good luck Vee! How has your first week gone?

  59. I’ve had Cervical and Lumbar Fusion in 2009/2011. I’ve had three left knee surgeries also. My daughter and I really wants to try this. She’s a cheerleader in High School no problem for her. My question is have you known anyone in this shape that has achieved Insanity? My Orthopedic Surgeon said he disagrees with me that. He said I’d be heading for the disability line. I have a huge exercise mat that’s padded and my knee brace. At my own pace do you think I could do Insanity? Thank you.

    • Hi Tabitha,

      It’s a tough one to call. I can’t give you medical advice personally. I can’t say I’ve known anyone with 3 knee surgeries either. Insanity does involve a lot of bending of the knees and high impact workouts. Perhaps you can try it slowly and see which exercises suit you best. In terms of health, just doing some high intensity workouts each day will does wonders.

  60. hi there,

    I see quite a few posts about the ‘boobs’, this is one question that is bugging me too but it hasnt been yet answered on here!

    Joe you are not a woman I know but maybe you answer these questions for us ladies so we know what we should expect?

    I got D sizes boobs and I am more than happy with them, so will Insanity work out make them smaller?

    thanks a lot for the answer to my qestion :)

    • i have DD’s and have not lost them, it honestly just depends on your body, nobody can answer that question for you, you’ll just have to wait and see what will come in the end i’ve completed insanity and on a 3rd month of it starting it from the beg. im more than happy to lose them and they just arent budging lol..

  61. I Wana reduce my whole thing…. I need it support and I can’t buy insanity workout also…. Help me pls

  62. I’m just about to finish up my 2nd week of insanity. I haven’t really been tracking results (don’t weigh or measure myself)because I care moreso what I look like and how my clothes fit. I will say that I was a pretty avid exerciser before I started–lifting and doing cardio 5-6 days/week, and this is hard! I’m sweating more than I ever have and I have yet to go through a whole video without taking a break when I’m not supposed to. I’m really hoping to get into better shape and go down 2 sizes. I’m 5’5″ and roughly 150lbs (like I said, I hardly ever weigh myself, but 150lbs is pretty consistent for me). I’m a size 8-10 and I’d like to get down to 4-6. Really hoping that happens by then end of all this! I also don’t follow a meal plan. I like to think I eat pretty healthy, but I’m not afraid to go out on a Saturday night and have a cheeseburger and some beers. For the most part I eat 5 smaller meals/snacks per day trying to incorporate fruit, veggies, and mostly protein. I also eat a lot of nuts and air-popped popcorn.

  63. Hiya
    i am currently doing insanity and have the last 2 weeks to go, i have found my legs have got bigger but yet it seems my trousers are alot tighter around my waist as well as my legs, does this mean im not losing weight around my waist but gaining it? i havent changed my diet from before insanity so not sure what my body is doing! Im just debating weather to do month 2 again or try something else, such as running or swimming?

    • Hey Sophie – it’s really important that you measure your results. I like to measure my ‘inches’ – this includes the waist, and also arms and legs. The change of diet is also quite important. I don’t know what you currently eat but I would say that eating the right foods is more than half the battle here, and that might explain why you have not lost weight in the right areas.

  64. I’ve completed the inanity program and although i’ve gained 5 pounds, i did lose some inches, i have health problems so for me to actually lose weight like normal is difficult and leaving myself a mess for 5 years after having my son isnt helping me see results but the program does work for women, again having lose skin being over weight and doing nothing for 5 years isnt gonna just slap up and become fit in 2 months but keep doing the program for a much as you can might give some women who feel it isnt working time to actually work this week will be my ending of the first month again in the program even though im still fat lol im actually happy with myself, my body aches and i love it, me and insanity we have a love hate relationship i hate to love it as much as i do.. by far the hardest workout to ever do but worth every minute of it :)

  65. Hi Everyone,
    I just found this website and read all of the reviews on everyone doing Insanity. First let me say that I am a female, age 54. I have one more week of Insanity left to go and I am taking a week off and then doing another round of it. So far, I have lost so many inches everywhere and came down a couple of sizes (went from size 18 to a size 12/13). I still would like to come down some more to a size 9/10. When I first started I didn’t think I would be able to do it, but I kept pushing “play” and digging deeper and as the days and weeks went by, I was getting stronger. The scale while doing Insanity is not your friend. I haven’t weighted myself since doing Insanity. I can tell my body is getting in shape by how my clothes are fitting and the way that I am feeling. Nutrition also plays a key role in all of this “madness”. After the workouts it is best to drink a rest and recovery drink. I drink PX90 rest and recovery formula. It helps to replemish your muscles and really helps with the soreness. I also drink “shakeology” which is a meal replacement drink which is very good. It has all of the nutrients that you will every need. If you look up Shakeology, it will go into detail of what is included in it. They have different flavors. I am very happy that I started this and eventhough some mornings I really did not feel like doing it, I still pushed through and was satisfied after I finished. I would recommend anyone who is not seeing any weight loss, just notice the inches and keep pushing play and you will see results.

  66. Hi, I’m a very healthy and active 20 yr old college student just trying to tone up my stomach some more. My mom just got insanity because she wants to lose about 10-15 lbs and so I’ve been trying to research whether this is something I should do as well. To be honest, I don’t want to get much smaller, I just want to tone up more! I am 5’6 and weigh 122 lbs. I know I have a small figure but just want to tone my stomach. I see all these success stories about losing 30 or 50 lbs after 60 days so I guess I worry that I’ll lose too much weight? How does this all work? Will I be okay? Will my body naturally tone to wear it should be and not get much smaller if I’m doing it right? I just want stronger legs and more defined results in my core. What do you think?

    • Hey, you can use Insanity to achieve the results you want – toning up and getting stronger. Insanity is heavy on the cardio, but it also includes some strength training. You won’t be using weights for Insanity but some exercises use your body weight to increase strength. What you need to keep in mind is your diet is crucial if you want to tone up in the right areas, i.e. cutting down on the sugar and so on. It’s very useful for lowering your overall body fat (including the stuff inside your body that you can’t see but affects your health). Lastly and most importantly, track your results! If you see you are losing more weight than you like, then increase your protein intake and try other variables. Measure your inches too so you can see the progress you’re making. Good luck if you do try it :)

  67. does insanity work on skinny people with fast metabolism. I don’t want to lose weight but gain muscle

  68. Hi everyone,
    As an overweight person, I wanted to provide in my input. I am 28 years old, 5’0″ and 202.3lbs, which I do realize is very overweight for my height and frame. I used to be 123lbs about 6 years ago; however, being a single mom of two, working full time and going to school started to really take its toll. Yesterday, I just finished Week 2 of Insanity and so far I absolutely love it!!! Although I don’t move like the people in the workout, I modify it in a way that my moves are similar but focusing on maintaining safety when it comes to form. For example, the Global Jumps, until I can get more strength in my knees, instead of being close to the ground, I just bend my knees and go down into a squat then jump while still moving both my arms as instructed. I still get the cardio from it while making sure my form is still intact. It’s still hard but I am having a blast! I made the mistake of not taking measurements before I started but I did take before pics and I recently took my Week 2 pics and let me just say, so far the results are short of amazing! I’m actually looking forward to the fit test to see how I’ve improved. I can’t wait to see the end results and most likely, I will be doing another round or two of Insanity. As far as the nutrition, I don’t follow the nutrition guide provided, but I am definitely watching what I eat and making sure I get enough protein and veggies and so far so good!
    Due to my busy schedule the only time I can fit in my workouts are first thing in the morning, which during my work days, means my workouts start at 3am because I start at 5am. It was hard at first but it’s becoming easier and I definitely prefer having my workout completed for the day  I hope to motivate anyone in a similar situation. When I started I was at 210lbs and now at 202lbs! I’m happy with it and look forward to changes to come!  

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>